Image illustrating the eligibility criteria for IIT admissions.

Eligibility Criteria for IIT Admissions

Eligibility Criteria for IIT Admissions: A Comprehensive Guide for Aspiring Engineers




Are you prepared to enter the world of Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), renowned for their engineering excellence? For aspiring engineers, it is crucial to understand the eligibility requirements for IIT. These criteria serve as the gateway to these prestigious institutions and lay the foundation for your engineering dreams.


Eligibility Criteria for the JEE Main Exam 2024

  • Nationality: Indian citizens, foreign nationals, NRIs, PIOs, and OCIs are eligible to apply.
  • Age: There is no age limit, but candidates must meet the age criteria specified by the desired institute.
  • Total Attempts: You can take the JEE Main exam a maximum of three consecutive times, with a total of six attempts since the exam is conducted twice a year.
  • Qualifying Exam: Candidates must have passed the 10+2 or an equivalent examination from a recognized institution or board. Various qualifying exams are accepted.
  • Subjects: Candidates should have studied at least five subjects, with Physics and Mathematics as core subjects. The required subjects may vary for B.E./B.Tech and B.Arch/B.Planning.
  • Year of Passing: Candidates who passed the Class 12 examination in 2022 or 2023, or are currently appearing in 2024, are eligible. Those who passed in 2021 or earlier, or will appear in 2025 or later, do not qualify for JEE Main 2024.
  • Diploma Holders: Diploma holders can apply, but their scores will not be considered for NIT or CFTI admissions.
  • Marks Eligibility: General category candidates need a minimum of 75% in Class 12 or be in the top 20 percentile. Reserved category candidates require a minimum of 65% for admissions to IITs, NITs, IIITs, and other CFTIs.


JEE Main Eligibility Criteria for Repeaters

  • Age Limit: The age limit has been removed by the NTA, so candidates no longer need to be below 24 years of age.
  • Qualifying Exam:  Candidates must have passed the Class 12 exam or an equivalent qualifying exam.
  • Marks Requirement: Candidates who have appeared for the Class 12 board exam must secure a minimum of 75% marks.
  • Subject Requirements: In the qualifying exam, candidates must have studied 5 subjects, with Physics and Mathematics being mandatory.


Eligibility Criteria for IIT JEE Advanced

If you pass JEE Main and meet the eligibility requirements, you can take JEE Advanced, which serves as the gateway to undergraduate programs at IITs. Here are the qualifying criteria:

  • Be among the top 2,50,000 candidates (including reserved category) who clear JEE Main – Paper 1.
  • For general category candidates, score at least 75% marks in your Std. XII board exam, including Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry/Biology/Biotechnology. For SC-ST category candidates, the minimum requirement is 65%.
  • Alternatively, be in the top 20 percentile of your Std. XII board.
  • You can appear for JEE Advanced in two consecutive years starting from the year you complete Std. XII.
  • If you join any IIT, IT-BHU, Varanasi, or ISM, Dhanbad through JEE, you will not be allowed to take JEE in the future.



In conclusion, meeting the eligibility criteria for IIT is a crucial step for aspiring engineering students. Understanding the specific requirements regarding nationality, age, qualifying exams, marks, and other factors is essential for a successful application and admission process. By adhering to these criteria, candidates can pursue their dreams of studying at prestigious institutions like the Indian Institutes of Technology, paving the way for a promising future in the field of engineering. It is important to stay informed and prepared to fulfill these eligibility conditions and make the most of the opportunities provided by IIT.

Write a Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *